Headies Awards: Sarkodie wins Best African Artiste of the Year. See full list here


Ghana's multiple award winning artiste, Sarkodie, was adjudged Best African Artiste and the 2014 Headies Awards in Nigeria Sunday night. The Headies Awards is one of the most respected indigenous awards. 
Buzzing dancehall act Patoranking dominated the event ceremony and went home with three awards. His first award for his collaborative effort on 'Emergency'. The hit single earned him the Best Collabo award alongside WizzyPro, Skales and Runtown. His second award was the Best Reggae /Dancehall category for his hit single 'Patoranking'. His biggest award of the night was when he clinched the Next Rated award category. In a moving speech the artiste recollected his humble beginnings.

Pop star Davido won the Song of the Year category for 'Aye', and Artiste of the Year, while Olamide took home two Headies - Best Rap Album, and Album of the Year.

Mavin boss Don Jazzy also went home with two awards. He and his crew won the 'Best Pop Single' award. Later in the night, he won the major award, Producer of the Year. Fellow Mavin act Reekado Banks went home with two awards two, Best Pop Single and Rookie of the Year.

See the complete list of winners below;

Best R&B Single - Let Somebody Love You by 2face Idibia.

Best Pop Single - Dorobucci by The Mavins

Best Rap Single - Parcel by Phyno

Best Street Hop - Double Wahala by Oritsefemi

Best Vocal Performance (Male) - Iyawo Mi by Timi Dakolo

Best R&B/Pop Album - The Journey by Sean Tizzle

Best Vocal Performance (Female) - Love To Love You by Niyola.

Best Rap Album - Baddest Guy Ever Liveth by Olamide.

Best Reggae/Dancehall - Girlie O by Patoranking

Best Collabo - Emergency by WizzyPro featuring Skales, Runtown and Patoranking

Best Recording of the Year - Ordinary People by Cobhams Asuquo

Best Alternative Song - Bolaji by BOJ.

Producer of the Year - Don Jazzy

Lyricist on the Roll - Jesse Jagz

Next Rated - Patoranking

Hall of Fame - Sir Victor Uwaifo

African Artiste of the Year - Sarkodie

Rookie of the Year - Reekado Banks

Best Music Video - Ada Ada (Flavour) by Clarence Peters

Song of the Year - Aye by Davido

Album of the Year - Baddest Guy Ever Liveth by Olamide.

Artiste of the Year- Davido. 

Source: Alfred Sarpong